Menu ☰

Back to Top

Physics History Network

Over 1000 biographies of physicists and histories of institutions with information pertaining to their lives, careers, and research.

Tip: Search within this page by using Ctrl + F or ⌘ + F

Search Our Catalogs

Archives Books


Emilio Segré Visual Archives Digital Collections Oral Histories Archival Finding Aids Physics History Network Member Society Portals Ethical Cataloging Statement

Preservation and Support

Donating Materials Suggest a Book Purchase Saving Archival Collections Grants to Archives Documentation Projects History Newsletters

Center for History of Physics

Scholarship & Outreach

Main Navigation

HomeAboutTopic GuidesFeedback

Atomic and molecular physics.

People Institutions

Atomic and molecular physics.


Barkla, C. G. (Charles Glover), 1877-1944

Bederson, Benjamin

Bergquist, James Charles

Biondi, Manfred Anthony, 1924-

Bleakney, Walker, 1901-1992

Bohr, Aage

Bragg, William Henry, 1862-1942

Branscomb, Lewis M., 1926-

Briggs, Lyman J. (Lyman James), 1874-1963

Brockhouse, B. N.

Bucksbaum, Philip H.

Chadwick, James, 1891-1974

Cockcroft, John, Sir, 1897-1967

Cocke, C. Lewis

Cohen-Tannoudji, Claude

Commins, Eugene D.

Compton, Arthur Holly, 1892-1962

Crane, H. R. (Horace Richard), 1907-2007

Dirac, P. A. M. (Paul Adrien Maurice), 1902-1984

Falcone, Roger W.

Fano, Ugo

Feinberg, Gerald, 1933-

Fletcher, Harvey, 1884-1981

Foley, Henry Michael, 1917-1982

Fortson, E. Norval

Franck, James, 1882-1964

Gallagher, Thomas F., 1944-

Gibbons, John H., 1929-2015

Greene, Christopher Henry

Hänsch, T. W. (Theo W.), 1941-

Happer, William, 1939-

Haroche, S.

Heisenberg, Werner, 1901-1976

Hertz, Gustav, 1887-

Hofstadter, Robert, 1915-1990

Holstein, Theodore David, 1915-1985

Hughes, Vernon W.

Hutchisson, Elmer, 1902-

Jeffries, C. D., 1922-

Jensen, J. Hans D.

Julienne, Paul S.

Ketterle, Wolfgang

Kleppner, Daniel

Koshiba, Masatoshi, 1926-2020

Kroll, Norman Myles, 1922-

Lamb, Willis E. (Willis Eugene), 1913-2008

Lane, Neal F.

Langmuir, Irving, 1881-1957

Laporte, Otto, 1902-1971

Laue, Max von, 1879-1960

Lenard, Philipp, 1862-1947

Loeb, Leonard B. (Leonard Benedict), 1891-

Meggers, William F. (William Frederick), 1888-1966

Meyerhof, Walter E. (Walter Ernst), 1922-

Millikan, Robert Andrews, 1868-1953

Novick, Robert

Perrin, Jean, 1870-1942

Phillips, William D. (William Daniel), 1948-

Pritchard, David E. (David Edward), 1941-

Raman, C. V., 1888-1970

Rieser, Leonard M.

Robertson, H. P. (Howard Percy), 1903-1961

Sachs, Robert Green, 1916-

Schulz, George J., 1925-

Smith, Neville, 1942-2006

Smyth, Henry De Wolf, 1898-1986

Sullivan, Jeremiah D.

Tamm, I. E. (Igor' Evgen'evich), 1895-1971

Thomas, Llewellyn Hilleth, 1903-1992

Thomson, J. J. (Joseph John), 1856-1940

Townes, Charles H.

Walton, Ernest, 1903-1995

Webster, David Locke, 1888-1976

Wieman, C. E. (Carl Edwin)

Wineland, David J.

Ye, Jun, 1967-

Yukawa, Hideki, 1907-1981


Brookhaven National Laboratory

Cornell University. Department of Physics

GA (Series) (San Diego, Calif.)

Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics

University of Texas at Austin. Department of Physics

University of Virginia. Department of Physics

University of Washington. Department of Physics

University of Wisconsin--Madison. Department of Physics

Yale University. Physics Department