If you are not immediately redirected, please click here
Lw̲din, Per-Olov, 1916-2000
Oral history interview with Per Olov Lw̲din, 1975 January 27.
Deals mainly with the establishment of the Winter conferences in quantum chemistry on Sanibel Island. Lw̲din's work in quantum chemistry at University of Uppsala, Sweden and earlier visits to the U.S. (invitations by Hertha Sponer, Robert Mullikan, and John Slater) leads to an exchange program between University of Florida and Lw̲din's Uppsala group. Lw̲din moves to Gainesville, Fla. in 1959, on a part-time basis; the first winter conference at Casa Ybel on Sanibel Island. Comments on the Swedish summer institutes, especially Valadalen in 1958; Harrison Shull's role and the establishment of five-week-long winter institutes at Gainesville, supported by National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Office of Scientific Research of the U.S. Air Force. Basic themes: quantum chemistry and solid state theory, with later additions of quantum biology (Alberte and Bernard Pullman), quantum statistics and collision phenomena. Slater's view of the Sanibel conferences. Financial aspects of the conferences and institutes after NSF support ceases. Comments on the conference arrangements: selection of chairmen, panel members, participants and the honorary presidents: Egil Hylleraas, Robert Mullikan, John Slater, John Van Vleck, Henry Eyring, Edward Condon and L. H. Thomas, 1963-1975; publication of conference proceedings. The Nobel Prize: selection procedures of candidates. Also prominently mentioned are: Keith Brueckner, Enrico Fermi, Maria Goeppert Mayer, Erik Proskrauer; American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, Florida State University, International Journal of Quantum Chemistry, Sanibel Symposia, and U.S. Department of Defense.
Swedish Scientist (1916-2000). Professor, University of Uppsala (1960-1983) and in parallel at University of Florida (until 1993). A member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since 1969.
Brueckner, Keith A.
Condon, Edward Uhler, 1902-1974.
Eyring, Henry
Fermi, Enrico, 1901-1954.
Hylleraas, Egil
Lw̲din, Per-Olov, 1916-2000
Mayer, Maria Goeppert, 1906-1972.
Proskrauer, Erik
Pullman, Albert
Pullman, Bernard
Shull, Harrison
Slater, John C, (John Clarke), 1900-1976.
Sponer, Hertha, 1895-1968
Thomas, Llewellyn Hilleth, 1903-1992
Van Vleck, J. H. (John Hasbrouck), 1899-1980
Academic Press.
American Institute of Physics.
American Physical Society.
Florida State University.
National Science Foundation (U.S.)
United States. Air Force. Office of Scientific Research.
University of Florida. Winter Institute.
Uppsala universitet.
Sanibel Symposia.
International journal of quantum chemistry.
Collisions (Nuclear physics)
Nobel Prizes.
Quantum statistics.
Solid state physics.
Solid state physics -- History
Oral histories. aat
Interviews. aat
Transcripts. aat
Sound recordings lcgft
Hoddeson, Lillian. interviewer.
American Institute of Physics. Niels Bohr Library & Archives. One Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740, USA