If you are not immediately redirected, please click here
Bromberg, Joan Lisa.
Joan Bromberg research materials for "Fusion: science, politics, and the invention of a new energy source", 1922-1982 (bulk 1958-1978).
Reference files; transcripts; audio recordings; conference proceedings. The reference files are copies of unpublished contract reports, internal memoranda, minutes, etc. assembled by Bromberg for the book FUSION, relating to fusion research undertaken for the U.S. Department of Energy, and its predecessors the U.S. Energy Research and Development Corporation and the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. The interviews consist of full or partial transcriptions and audio cassettes of interviews with seventy prominent fusion researchers. The longest interviews are with John F. Clarke, Bruno Coppi, Ray A. Dandl, Stephen O. Dean, Harold Eubank, Harold P. Furth, Melvin B. Gottlieb, Roy W. Gould, Harold Grad, Robert L. Hirsch, Franz C. Jahoda, Edwin E. Kintner, Robert G. Mills, Ronald R. Parker, Richard F. Post, Fred L. Ribe, Michael Roberts, David J. Rose, Arthur E. Ruark, and James Leslie Tuck. The proceedings are of the Sherwood Conferences on Controlled Thermonuclear Reactions (1952-1958) held at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
Historian (science). On history of science faculty at the University of Hawaii, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, and the Hebrew University; assistant to Lǒn Rosenfeld at the Niels Bohr Institute in Copenhagen (1969-1971); contract historian at the U. S. Department of Energy (1977-1981); and director of the Laser History Project co-sponsored by the American Institute of Physics, Center for History of Physics, from 1982. Wrote "The Laser in America, 1950-1970" in 1991 (MIT Press). Latest work is "NASA and the Space Industry" (New Series in NASA History, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1999).
Lawrence Livermore Laboratory
Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory.
Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
United States. Congress. Joint Committee on Atomic Energy.
United States. Department of Energy fast
U.S. Atomic Energy Commission.
U.S. Energy Research and Development Corporation.
Sherwood Conference on Controlled Thermonuclear Reactions.
Nuclear fusion.
Nuclear physics.
Nuclear reactions.
Plasma physics.
Photocopies. aat
Interviews. aat
Sound recordings lcgft
Historians of science. lcsh
Princeton University. Plasma Physics Laboratory.
Clarke, John F., 1939-
Dandl, R. A.
Dean, Stephen Odell, 1936-
Gottlieb, Melvin.
Grad, Harold, 1923-
Hirsch, Robert L. (Robert Louis), 1935-
Kintner, Edwin.
Mills, Robert G.
Ruark, Arthur Edward, 1899-
Coppi, Bruno.
Eubank, Harold.
Furth, H. P.
Gould, Roy W. (Roy Walter), 1927-
Jahoda, Franz C.
Parker, Ronald R.
Tuck, James Leslie, 1910-1980
American Institute of Physics. Niels Bohr Library & Archives. One Physics Ellipse, College Park, MD 20740, USA